I just watched my laptop die

January 15, 2007

Excellent!

So at 11.30 this morning, I was busily surfing the net and otherwise wasting my life, when suddenly something strange happened. The screen of my 18-month old iBook began to display a “comb” of vertical lines across both it and the external monitor I had attached. It’s difficult to explain: the screen now displays a series of shifting vertical lines (they shift whenever the image changes, like every time I type a character) which persist indefinitely.

I restarted my computer, and they were still there. Hell, one screen still displayed a pattern of vertical lines that still displayed the image that had been in place before I shut down the machine.

TechTool Deluxe 3.0.1, the recovery software that came with my extended warranty, was unable to detect any hardware faults at all: specifically, it passed the CPU, RAM and VRAM checks (almost everything else was I/O-related). This leads me to believe that I watched my motherboard fry itself to death.

Here’s a cropped screenshot (yes, it shows up in screenshots):

My laptop is now non-operational (well, screwed; I’m using it now, but it’s hardly what I’d call “fun”)… just like Alexis’ computer, her dad’s printer, and my printer.

So much broken hardware, all at once. :(

Update: Goddamnit! The problem is only intermittent… which is probably going to make fixing this so much harder.

One Response to “I just watched my laptop die”


  1. […] not dead On Saturday my iBook returned from repairs after the excellent logicboard failure, ready to be abused once more. Poor […]


Leave a Reply

